Reviews and Comments

  • Home
  • Reviews and Comments
  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   5 years 9 months ago

    Awesome trunk! Everything I expected and more. The craftsmanship is excellent, and the distressing feature is beautiful. The trunk was built and shipped in a very timely manner, and Josh kept me updated on its progress. Could not be happier with my purchase. Thanks Josh!

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   5 years 10 months ago

    I received my order last week and I am absolutely thrilled with the workmanship, outstanding and worth every penny! Josh bent over backwards to get my order to me in short notice as well. Thank you all for your great work! The chest was packaged very well, no problems at all with shipping. Very happy with my purchase.

  • For Product: Oak Steamer Trunk   5 years 10 months ago

    The trunk I purchased as a college graduation gift came out
    beautiful. It was a pleasure to purchase such a well made
    piece of furniture. It arrived in perfect condition. Also,
    Mr. Stoltzfus was prompt in exchanging emails with information.
    Thanks again! L. Stanley

  • For Product: Springfield Large Seat Rail (Cedar)   5 years 11 months ago

    One of the most beautiful pieces of furniture I have ever seen. Extremely well made, fast shipping, well packaged. Would highly recommend.

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Oak)   5 years 11 months ago

    The 2 panel oak shaker chest is a beautiful piece of furniture! High quality workmanship in every detail including the finish. The chest was carfully packed and arrived in perfect condition. Step up and buy real American made furniture!

  • For Product: Red Oak Mission Chest   5 years 11 months ago

    The quality and workmanship on the Chest is excellent. Not only will I recommend the company to other people, I will be purchasing another chest from them in the near future.

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   5 years 12 months ago

    Just received my chest today and can't believe how good it looks. The craftmanship is second to none. This has been an awsome experience from start to finish. Thanks again for such a great product. Will be ordering another one soon.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 6 days ago

    Our cedar chest arrived today,and we simply love it.It was shipped all the way to Canada and arrived flawless!The whole experience with this company was above and beyond our expectations.Thank-you to all who made this beautiful chest,it will be forever treasured.

  • For Product: Cambridge Large Seat Rail (Cherry)   6 years 1 week ago

    I ordered the Cambridge Large Seat Rail Chest in Bing Cherry. It is a stunning piece of furniture. The quality and craftsmanship are outstanding. It will grace our home and that of our children or grandchildren for generations.

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   6 years 2 weeks ago

    Heirloom masterpiece! This is the second chest I've ordered. Both were wedding gifts for my daughters. The craftsmanship is spectacular. I wanted something that could be handed down for generations and I think I found it. Beautiful dovetailing, solid cherry, cedar lined, great service what more could I ask for. I'll be back when daughter number three gets married. Loved to be able to write a message on the brass plate, that made it special and personalized. The finish is so elegant and best of all it is loved by my daughter and new son in law.

  • For Product: Manchester Fancy Front (Oak)   6 years 1 month ago

    Wow. WOW! These folks just don't disappoint you, from the initial order, to the delivery of the beautiful finished product. You feel as though they CARE about your order, and it's obvious that they take great pride in their craftsmanship. I just noticed that I wasn't even charged for my chest until it ARRIVED and I had signed for it.
    I had had a Lane Hope Chest, prior to my new Amish Hand Crafted chest. After thirty years of kids kicking it, the vacuum nicking it, and the dogs licking it, It needed a refinish job. Imagine my surprise, then, when my refinishing guy told me that the wood on the Lane chest was merely a veneer, and it was impossible to redo it! I was really shocked, and I then decided not to get another Lane. I searched online and found this website and these chests. And I'm soooo happy that I did. The samples they sent, for the stain colors, we're very helpful in choosing between a few very close ones, and I was glad I waited to choose which stain color I wanted. I also requested that they make my seat cover from tapestry material that I had, and they not only did that perfectly, but they returned all of the remaining material.
    The work was completed in exactly the timeframe they promised, and the shipping was PERFECT. The chest was very well protected, especially the corners, and I was very happy upon delivery. No question, I would order again from these woodworking artisans! :-)

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 1 month ago

     I cannot express how impressed I was by the quality of workmanship on this Waterfall Chest. Gorgeous, beautiful, exquisite - none of those words describes how well made the chest is. The etching on the front of it is done so perfectly. Thank you - this will certainly be an heirloom passed down from generation to generation. ~ Teresa

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 2 months ago

    This is the third chest I have purchased and the quality and craftsmanship is just consistently the BEST! The Summerfield chest is absolutely beautiful, functional and fragrant. These chests are worth every cent as they are heirlooms that will endure and be proudly handed down to future generations. Thank you Amish Hand Crafted!

  • For Product: Cambridge Medium Seat Rail (Cherry)   6 years 2 months ago

    Loved the chest, it was absolutely beautiful! Thank you so much for your hard work. ~ Wendy

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 2 months ago

    The chest arrived right on the day it was expected and without so much as a scratch even on the box it was shipped in. The protective packing was very well done. The hardware is well chosen and substantial – the hinges are sturdy, well aligned, and nicely recessed; the support for the lid is strong and it latches securely in the open position. The design is simple to the point of being plain; the construction is very well done – no splinters or burrs or rough edges anywhere, (even on the bottom), and the finish is excellent. I'm very happy and would recommend them to anyone.

  • For Product: Harmony Small Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 2 months ago

    My Canterbury Chest arrived today and it exceeded my expectations in every way! The stain is absolutely beautiful all around, the finish is satin soft to the hand, and it rolled so easily across the floor to move into position. When selecting the Folklore pattern to have carved into the side, the picture to choose did not do justice to how beautiful it would look carved into the side of the chest! I also sleceted the cedar slide tray, and it was put together so well, the craftmanship really stands out in every aspect in this fine heirloom piece! I also appreciated the frequent updates on the status of when I would be receiving my chest, as well as the way it was packaged. Again, thank you so much!
    Kathy Diamond

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 2 months ago

    I ordered one of these in Acres Cherry
    - Cedar Slide Tray
    - Cedar Lining
    - Dovetail Joints
    - Custom Engraved Name Plate

    It arrived in plenty of time for my wife's birthday. All of the relatives and friends at her party were very impressed... and some wanted to know where I found this beautiful chest! My wife was almost in tears at the sight of it. She's very happy to have this to store her keepsakes in.

  • For Product: Franklin Medium (Cedar)   6 years 3 months ago

    Cedar chest is beautifully made & finish far exceeded expectations! Order was completed, shipped, & delivered in very short timeframe. Excellent communication of order & shipping status - delivered in perfect condition. Highly recommend this product..

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 3 months ago

    I ordered the Manhatten medium waterfall chest in Acres Cherry, cedar slide tray, cedar lining, dovetail joints, Dutch bird front design, and old world distressing. The custom engraved name plate has mine and my husband's names and our wedding date. I am very happy with my choice. My son helped me take the chest out of the shipping box (which was extremely well protected). My son said over and over again "this is well made, very well made"! Josh was very helpful on the phone and thru email. Before I ordered the chest, I went to several web sites and read reviews and decided to order thru Amish Handcrafted and I am very happy I did. The care and craftsmanship is exemplified thru this exquisite cedar chest!

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 3 months ago

    Dear Joshua,
    My cedar chest arrived two days ago in perfect and beautiful condition! I had read the testimonials on your website but wondered if they were a bit exaggerated. They were not. The craftsmanship is superb and this piece is everything I had hoped it would be. I love the dovetail joints and I know that this piece will be in our family for years. I will definitely order from you again. Thank you for your attention to detail. ~ Jeanne

  • For Product: Quarter Sawn White Oak Mission Chest   6 years 3 months ago

    Absolutely first rate craftmanship and detail. Came exactly as Josh described, packed in perfect condition.
    Can't say enought about this company!
    American made and shows the pride we have in our work.
    Thanks again!

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 4 months ago

    I recently received this medium size basic cedar chest and was simply amazed at the timely filing of my order, excellent packaging of this item and prompt delivery, which was included in the pricing. The chest itself it truly well-crafted and very sturdy and is welcomed into our new home at our entry way to be used for storage and seating. The aroma if the cedar when you open the chest is not over-whelming and there is ample storage inside, the pictures really do not do them justice.
    The follow-up emails after you place your order keep you updated and I would highly recommend this product and company to others. Will definitely keep this company in mind when a gift is needed for someone or to order a larger version if we ever move to a larger home. Thanks for your excellent service and products. Kim

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 4 months ago

    I am very pleased with this chest. It is the perfect size to hold throws and blankets in the den. It looks good and smells great! Thank you.

  • For Product: Quarter Sawn White Oak Mission Chest   6 years 5 months ago

    We love this chest. I found this website quite by accident, but what a lucky find! The chest is simply beautiful. Craftsmanship is excellent in every respect, and dealing with Josh was great. He was friendly, courteous and nice.

  • For Product: Quarter Sawn White Oak Mission Chest   6 years 5 months ago

    We wanted a medium-sized chest to hold blankets and comforters, as well as double as a seat to lay out clothes or sit on. A good well-joined piece of furniture should last a lifetime and look great for many years.

    The craftsmanship on the Mission Chest is outstanding. The cuts in the quarter-sawn oak are clean and tight and the artistry in selecting and matching the complex grain is evident. We chose the Salem stain which nicely brings out the grain contrast while leaving a medium dark finish overall, a good choice in a room with other mixed wood furniture. The quality hardware is plenty heavy for the lid and does not allow the lid to accidentally fall when fully open. The tray insert is a perfect fit and will be useful for small linens like extra pillow covers.

    Everything about dealing with Amish Hand Crafted was a pleasure. The chest was completed and shipped exactly on schedule, and it came carefully crated in a heavy carton to withstand the coast-to-coast trip.

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   6 years 5 months ago

    I ordered the Shaker III chest with a cherry top and black bottom. I customized it to be 3" taller and had them put 3 removable dividers in it. I also had them drill holes all along the bottom of the chest. I am using it in a public area next to my laundry room as a laundry sorter. It sounds weird but it is perfect - no one knows what the real use is and I can remove the dividers later if I decide to use it somewhere else. The craftsmanship is unbelievable - I am completely satisfied with the construction of the piece. It was finished exactly when I was told it would be and delivery was 2 days! I will definitely recommend this site to others.
    Thank you!!!

  • For Product: Manchester Fancy Front (Cherry)   6 years 5 months ago

    After searching retail stores for more than 2 weeks we were about to give up on the chest we dreamed about. Luckily we found the Amish Hand crafted website. The promised date of delivery was July 3 and the furniture arrived on June 28.
    To say that we are very pleased with the quality,workmanship and overall service would be an understatement. We are thrilled with the chest. It can be scary to order a product on line for quite a lot of money without actually seeing a sample of what you are getting. Well we truly feel we got our money's worth and more. Whomever said that we no longer have craftsmen in this country need to see Amish Hand Crafted products. Unbelieveable.
    Thanks so much.

  • For Product: Maple Plymouth Trunk   6 years 5 months ago

    The craftsmanship and skill that went into making this chest is just the beggining. This chest is gorgeous and arrived right when the crafter said it would, I am sure this chest will be in our family for generations to come.

  • For Product: Red Oak Mission Chest   6 years 5 months ago

    The Red Oak Mission Chest is just as described. Beautiful! Highly recommend Amish Handcrafted to anyone looking for a high quality furniture.

    The packing was great and the chest was in perfect condition upon arrival.

    Thank you!

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   6 years 6 months ago

    Chest arrived this AM in perfect shape due to careful packing. It is as beautiful as I hoped it would be. Could never duplicate the craftmanship in furniture found in most stores today. Thank you!!BG

  • For Product: Summerfield Petite Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 7 months ago

    I Just received my cedar chest. This is really a nice piece of furniture. It is very well put together and some of the best packaging I've ever seen. Most of the time I prefer not to buy online, but it's getting harder to find good stores. I chose Josh because of his great furniture and taking the time to help me. I highly recommend this company unless you want to buy from china 3 times over.LOL. Thanks Josh, and I will be looking to you for another chest in the future.

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 7 months ago

    Absolutely amazing service and my new Cedar Chest is oh so stunning! Shipping was super fast and packaged extremely well without damage. Ordering thru your website was so simple, straightforward, and easy to process my order. I also want to thank you for always keeping me up to date on my order as it shipped out, shipping took 10 days. So fast! Will definitely recommend you to my friends and family when buying solid wood chests in the near future! Thank you!

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   6 years 8 months ago

    I received the trunk and was THRILLED!! The quality is wonderful, I have a friend that does woodworking and he even gave this an excellent review! Thank you for the work that you do!

  • For Product: Springfield Large Seat Rail (Cedar)   6 years 8 months ago

    I received my Cedar Chest in Idaho a day before it scheduled, which was only 3 weeks after I ordered it! It is so beautiful! The wood is very smooth and the rose pattern I picked is amazing. The hinges are done well and will handle many many years of opening. The seat is soft and fits nicely on top. I will definitely order from here again when my daughter is old enough to have one!

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   6 years 8 months ago

    My chest arrived today in perfect condition. It is absolutely beautiful! Great workmanship! Love love love it!

  • For Product: Cambridge Medium Seat Rail (Cherry)   6 years 8 months ago

    I just received the delivery and am so very pleased. The chest is more than I expected. It is certifiably the most beautiful piece of furniture I now own. The craftmanship is excellent. I just loved opening it to get the cedar smell. The packaging was outstanding. The medium size is just perfect for the end of the bed and it is the first thing you see when you walk in the room. She is now on display for all to see.

  • For Product: Yorktown Med. Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   6 years 8 months ago

    We just received the above and could not be more delighted.The materials, finish and workmanship are superb.Your telephone assistance was also efficient and reliable.Altogether a very satisfactory purchase.
    We have seen similar chests which were of lesser quality and much more expensive, so also excellent value for money.
    We will be back.
    Jmaes
    3/21/2012

  • For Product: Savannah, Tiger Maple Top (Two-Tone Finish)   6 years 9 months ago

    The chest arrived Tuesday morning and the first thing we noticed was the expert way in which it was packed.

    The chest is beautiful and so well-constructed. The Salem finish lets one see the fine dove-tail joinery that might have been missed had I ordered the rubbed finish.

    My husband is a retired carpenter and he said the entire piece is exceptional in its construction, choice of wood, joinery, hardware and superb finish.

    You will not be disappointed in a chest that is so well-made here in the USA and the price you pay includes shipping by FedEx,

    Buy with confidence and enjoy your purchase.

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 9 months ago

    I purchased the small cedar chest to fit inside my closet. The chest if fantastic - it smells refreshingly of cedar and is the perfect size! It arrived very quickly (well packaged, so no damage whatsoever). Beautiful workmmanship - put together and carved with love. Excellent communication with the seller! Overall - i am extremely satisfied and would recommend this seller and his cedar chests to everyone looking one! Best price on line as well! Thank you!!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 9 months ago

    What a BEAUTIFUL piece of furniture !! Smells homemade, the wood is shiny, doves/heart design is etched impeccable, the slide tray is a handsome ole-fashioned addition, and the engraving plate is so clearly engraved and gives the finest touch. I LOVE IT !!
    This will be a Hope Chest for my daughter's bridal shower. I have been talking about her hope chest since she was a child, and I finally found the perfect one !!! She will be so surprised and extremely pleased. I am so ecstactic with this chest. It truly is more than I would have imagined ! GREAT JOB, Josh!, and thank you so much for making a childhood dream come true !
    Keep up your good work !! Christina

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   6 years 9 months ago

    I received my chest in perfect condition and on time. It is a beautiful piece which is well constructed. I truly love it. Thank you!

  • For Product: Cambridge Medium Seat Rail (Oak)   6 years 10 months ago

    I received my chest in mint condition and with a friendly deliveryman. The workmanship on the chest was
    just fantastic. My daughter received it as a gift and it will be treasured for a life time. It was worth the money and
    I must say I was extremely impressed with how this company worked with me. It is so nice to know that there
    are people and places out there that truly understand customer service when people spend money on something
    they want to treasure. Thank you for making my daughter truly have something she will treasure for a lifetime.

  • For Product: Carriage House Deep Storage Cherry Chest with Drawers   6 years 10 months ago

    We received our Carriage House Deep Storage Chest today and my wife and I were absolutely stunned to say the least. It was obvious from each corner of the chest, to the beautiful interior, and the shaker legs that extreme attention to detail was provided on the construction. I've seen the mass produced chests in furniture stores, but I'm here to tell you they don't even come close to comparing to the craftsmanship that Josh has put into his chests. I'm already bugging my wife to purchase a second chest. I can tell you honestly that I put a tremendous amount of research into things like this before deciding on a purchase, and I can tell you without a doubt, if you are considering and can't make up you mind - just do it, you will be more than pleased. Thank you Josh for the outstanding customer support, and this unbelievable chest that is destined to be handed down for generations to come.

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 10 months ago

    I cannot say enough for the manner in which our order was handled, nor the craftsmanship and skill that went into the production of our Cedar Chest. It was completed exactly on schedule, and delivered to our address, again, exactly on time. Furthermore, it arrived in immaculate condition. We could not have hoped for a more efficient handling of this entire transaction, nor for a more beautiful work of the craftsman's art. You are to be congratulated. I would recommend you wholeheartedly and without reservation to anyone seeking to buy such a chest. My daughter was absolutely delighted with the whole experience, especially with the final result. Again, thank you very much.

  • For Product: Harmony Jumbo Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 10 months ago

    Never in a million years would I have expected the chest that we ordered to be so incredibly beautiful!!! I was shocked when I opened the box, actually speechless!!!!! This is furniture. The craftsmanship was next to none!!! It was exactly what I had been looking for years for...I had emailed and asked a few questions and based upon what they told me, I ordered what they recommended for what I was looking for. They couldn't have been more right!!! It was so spacious and the capacity was perfect!!! It is a piece of furniture that will last a long time. I loved it so much that I am looking to order another chest from them in the near future. Beyond my expectations!!!!!

  • For Product: Cambridge Medium Seat Rail (Cherry)   6 years 10 months ago

    I love my new hope chest. It was recently delivered and is already at the foot of our bed. It is a beautiful addition to our room and the quality of the chest is unbeatable. It was well worth the price paid and something to treasaure for a lifetime!

  • For Product: Savannah, Tiger Maple Top (Two-Tone Finish)   6 years 10 months ago

    Honestly, you can't really improve on the service and quality, at least not from my recent purchase. The website is well designed and email responses quick, friendly and clear. Placing the order was easy with a quick email confirmation with estimated completion date. Joshua estimated two weeks, and it arrived in perfect condition in less than two weeks. The best part, the craftsmanship and materials are top quality. Nice thick top, quality hardware, beautiful dovetails, nice finish, and simply an elegant design. The grains of the wood are beautiful and pieced together with solid joints, screws, gluing and finishing. Choice of grain and pieces and top considerately placed. Everything from start to finish went flawlessly. Joshua builds a fine product, and conducts business the way it should be... friendly, considerate, prompt, with quality, and as promised. We are very pleased. Thank you.

  • For Product: Quarter Sawn White Oak Mission Chest   6 years 11 months ago

    The chest is magnificent. Very good craftsmanship. I appreciated the emails keeping me informed about the progress of the chest from ordering to delivery.

  • For Product: Harmony Jumbo Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 11 months ago

    This is a beautiful chest with a very large capacity. Exceptionally well made! The cedar lining and slide tray are a wonderful addition. I am very pleased with the color of the Acres Cherry Stain. Very warm and rich looking shade.

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   6 years 11 months ago

    Ever since I was a little girl, I wished for a large wooden chest to go at the foot of my bed. Over the years, I've collected heirlooms from my family, like quilts and a set of china, and I was hoping for a place to keep them safe. I received this beautiful steamer trunk as a Christmas gift, and I must say that I was thrilled to see it! The craftsmanship is excellent, and the finish is lovely. It has become a perfect addition to my house in function and beauty. Thank you!