Reviews and Comments

  • Home
  • Reviews and Comments
  • For Product: Summerfield Small Waterfall (Cedar)   6 years 11 months ago

    I bought this chest on very short notice for a combination Christmas/Engagement gift for my son and daughter-in-law to be. Joshua was very helpful and responsive. The chest arrived in plenty of time for the holidays and it is absolutely beautiful! My son and his finacee love it and have already started to keep "special" gifts and other items in it. Truly a great gift!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   6 years 11 months ago

    Chest arrived way ahead of promise date. Packaging was very good and very well protected. It looked well made and beautiful right out of the packaging. Wheels were nice to move into position. This will be used in our family room to house our comforters and other blankets that we want to keep away from the cat.

  • For Product: Large Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 11 months ago

    I received my chest 2 days ago. Absolutely perfect.
    Very impressed. You have a beautiful product.
    My daughter will love it! Also impresssed with the packing
    for shipping. Excellent.
    J. Caillet

  • For Product: Cambridge Large Seat Rail (Cherry)   6 years 11 months ago

    I ordered the Cambridge Large Seat Rail Cherry Chest in Bing Cherry and it is absolutely beautiful. The craftsmanship is top-notch. This truly is a piece of furniture that will be passed from generation to generation. Thank you Joshua, you should be very proud of your fine crafted products.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   6 years 12 months ago

    This chest is exactly as advertised - a lovely basic cedar chest that is sturdy, well-built, and wonderfully aromatic. Just as important is the fact that this is the first time I have dealt with an on-line company and actually felt that I knew and liked the folks at the other end. It was great to call the number on the website and get Josh Stoltzfus, instead of a menuing system, answering machine or clerk who knows only how to take orders and nothing about the product. E-mail follow-up after I placed my order was outstanding. Thanks for everything, Josh!

  • For Product: Carriage House (Two-Tone Finish)   7 years 1 hour ago

    This sturdy and astoundingly beautiful hope chest is a real presence in the room where it stands. It's solid, masterfully crafted, and just exudes a sense of time and legacy. When I ordered it, I never imagined a piece so fine, and I'm so happy to have it in my home.

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   7 years 1 day ago

    My chest is beautiful!!!! Thank you Joshua for all your help selecting the wood, and stain color. It is already at the foot of my 4 poster bed and it looks perfect!! My husband said to tell you the packing was as great as the chest! I would not hesitate to recomend you to anyone who wanted to purchase a BEAUTIFUL chest.

  • For Product: Harmony Jumbo Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 2 days ago

    I just received the chest I ordered today. I'm very pleased with the workmanship and appearance of the chest. My intetntions were to initiate a family Heirloom for my wife and daughter with this chest, and it has truely lived up to my expectations. I believe it will stay in the family for years to come.

    Thank you!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 1 month ago

    Our new chest is a beautiful addition to our home. The craftsmanship is excellent. Joints are precise, the wood carving on the front is expertly done and the finish is exquisite. It was truly a pleasure to open the shipping container and find a well made piece of furniture with no flaws, mistakes or shipping damage. I wish every purchase could be this pleasurable. Josh also delivered my order ahead of schedule. Thanks, Josh!

  • For Product: Manchester Fancy Front (Cherry)   7 years 1 month ago

    I bought this beautiful chest for my daughter. My husband builds furniture as a hobby and he would have been happy to have built this chest, but he is in the middle of making a beautiful piece of furniture and I did not want to wait for him to finish. When I received the chest the other day, he made sure he looked over every inch of it and was very happy that it was made exactly how he would have done it. The only thing he wished I had done was to have ordered it with dove tail joints, but other than that he said it was extremely well made and worth the money. This is definitely a heirloom piece of furniture. I like that it has the lock and key feature. Josh was very pleasant to work and will recommend him to all. Thank you again!

  • For Product: Large Basic Cedar Chest   7 years 1 month ago

    The chest is beautiful and very well made. I consider it a bargain. The smell of the red cedar is wonderful. I specified a length change, so I know it was custom made in very short order. Delivered before promised. Bravo!

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (Cherry)   7 years 2 months ago

    I received this chest as a gift and it is beautiful! The construction is solid, it arrived well-packed and undamaged. My favorite part is the spring-loaded hinges, which shut gently and the smell of the cedar bottom.

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 3 months ago

    Thank you so much for this finely crafted chest, Josh. It arrived in perfect condition and will be a treasure in our family for many years to come. I love it!

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   7 years 3 months ago

    I really liked this website, (after looking at many dozens for a reproduction chest) and decided to place an order.

    My order was for a chest stained with "Michael's Cherry," cedar lining and I added the personalized brass plaque. I also opted for the "Dutch Bird" motif on the front.

    The chest arrived on the date promised, was extremely well packed during shipping, in excellent condition, and beautiful beyond words. It was everything I expected - and more!

    It was flawless and I simply can't say enough good things about the chest. The customer service and Joshua were also helpful and couldn't have been better.

    I would definitely recommend this company and their beautiful workmanship to anyone looking for fine hand-crafted furniture. My experience really deserves more than five stars!

    Carol Lee, Lubbock, TX

  • For Product: Savannah (Quarter Sawn White Oak)   7 years 3 months ago

    I just received my Bedford Deep Storage Chest (Quarter Sawn White Oak) and I am very pleased. The quality is excellent and the grain pattern is great. I checked out the exact same item at a nearby bricks and mortar store. The price would have been higher and the delivery time would have been longer. I chose the deep storage chest because it holds a lot stuff for the size. I chose the quarter sawn pattern rather than the flat sawn pattern. The quarter sawn pattern costs a little more but looks better.

  • For Product: Yorktown Med. Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   7 years 3 months ago

    Great chest! I purchased this hope chest as a wedding gift for my daugther and was thrilled. The craftmanship is great. I know this will be handed down for many generations because the quality outstanding. Not many places you can buy solid wood furniture these days. It will be a gift for them to treasure for a lifetime.
    Thanks Lynne

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   7 years 3 months ago

    My husband and I bought this chest for our daughter's 2oth birthday. I'm familiar with how well Amish furniture is made...however was still amazed at how beautiful this chest was!!! I would definitely recommend this web site to anyone...thank you for the beautiful workmanship, I know our daughter will cherish this chest!!

  • For Product: Maple Plymouth Trunk   7 years 4 months ago

    Frankly, I'm not that easy to please when it comes to custom wood furniture - my father was a master carpenter - but I was very impressed with this piece and give it a 5-star rating.

    The trunk is solid and unblemished, the fit and finish are excellent, and the hardware pieces accent the overall appearance nicely. The cedar tray insert is a wonderful feature - it's surprisingly handsome, adds practical value, moves easily along the rails (no wobbling or sticking) and smells great. The customized brass plaque is located on the inner-side of the lid and is immediately visible when the trunk is opened. The script and engraving are very attractive, and the message gives the trunk a very personal feel.

    Equally important, service was excellent. Joshua was extremely helpful - from my first email inquiring about availability of stock, selecting the piece, selecting stain finish and hardware, through confirmation of shipment to make sure it arrived in time for my wife's birthday. Emails were promptly answered (same day), with complete information, including alternate options and suggestions. Well done.

    Based on my experience, I have no doubt the quality of service and workmanship are the same on all the other Amish Hand Crafted products. I recommend the Maple Flat Top Trunk for anyone looking for a beautifully-crafted, personalized keepsake trunk. The price is fair for a piece of this quality and the staff obviously knows their business. Best of all, my wife loves this trunk.

    Jim
    Bothell, Wa.

  • For Product: Springfield Medium Seat Rail (Cedar)   7 years 4 months ago

    Beautiful!! Exactly what I ordered and more. Wonderful craftsmanship. This will be a family heirloom for generations.

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   7 years 5 months ago

    Thank you so much for the cedar chest. I too was a little worried about ordering and paying for a chest sight unseen. However, it is so beautiful, amazing workmanship. I will cherish this piece of furniture for many years to come. Thank you Josh and team. Sincerely T. Collins

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   7 years 5 months ago

    My maple steamer trunk in cherry stain with polished nickle hardware was delivered today. It is outstanding!! I was very nervous placing an order for a product sight-unseen but could not be more pleased. Josh and his team are true craftsmen. I am in awe!! Thank You so much Josh. Ya!!!!!!! I am so happy!!!!
    :0)
    Vicky

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Oak)   7 years 6 months ago

    I purchased this chest for my daughter as a hope chest for her graduation gift. It arrived in perfect condition and is absolutely beautiful. The quality craftsmanship is exceptional. Well worth the expence and patience! Thanks so much!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 6 months ago

    I bought this hope chest for my Granddaughter's 16th birthday. I am so excited, the chest is beautiful, the quality is well worth the money and she absolutely loves it. I will definately be ordering again since I have many more Grand Daughters who will be growing up. It is simply more beautiful than the picture. I couldn't have ask for more and the smell of cedar is wonderful. I also love the casters on the chest, which make it easy to move. My chest is 50 years old and I wish I had the casters on my chest. Love it, and can't say enough about the beauty and quality. Thanks so much!

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   7 years 6 months ago

    5-star rating does not do this chest justice. Joshua, this is an absolutely wonderful piece of furniture and will surely be passed down from generation to generation. Also, excellent service from initial order to delivery. Thank You.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   7 years 6 months ago

    I love this cedar chest. I bought it to store my woolen sweaters and yarn for my knitting projects. It's perfect! I would highly recommend this company. They are very accommodating and gracious to do business with.

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   7 years 7 months ago

    My maple streamer trunk arrived today! It is a beautiful piece and I am a very happy customer. Thank you Josh and team for all your hard work.

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   7 years 7 months ago

    I ordered the 2 Panel Maple Shaker Chest in Legacy Black. The furniture is beautiful!! It is very hard to find good furniture these days. I am very glad I came across your web site. I now also want the steamer chest as soon as I can find a place to put it. Thank you very much!

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   7 years 9 months ago

    I recently purchased a Maple Steamer Trunk from Josh and his team. It arrived in perfect condition and is just a gorgeous piece of furniture. You can tell right away that it was carefully built with a high degree of attention to detail. The craftsmanship is amazing and I feel truly honored to own this piece. Thank you!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 9 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous! We were a bit apprehensive to order this sight unseen but Joshua did a fantastic job! Our piece was exactly to our specifications and exceeded our expectations! The piece shipped overnight and was in superb condition upon arrival! For anyone reading this, you will not be disappointed! Thank you, Joshua!

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   7 years 10 months ago

    Beautiful. The trunk was completed two days before due date and shipped over nght. It was a gift for my daughter. After receiving the trunk she called immediately to say thank you. She was thrilled with the wood and craftsmanship. Well done, Joshua.
    Thank you.

  • For Product: Oak Steamer Trunk   7 years 10 months ago

    I received my Oak Steamer Trunk yesterday. I had planned to put it in my office, however, my wife has informed me that this is such a beautiful piece of furniture and I must have it in the general area of the house so we can enjoy the beauty of this piece and be able to show it off to all are friends and guests. Thank you for the quality workmanship you have furnished to manufacture our trunk. Unfortunately the emphasis in most manufacturing today is not on the quality of the item(s) produced but how fast they can be made and what shortcuts can be taken.
    Once again thank you for a superior piece of furniture. Tim Wardlow

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   7 years 10 months ago

    I received the medium-sized Basic Cedar Chest and it is really nice! It looks much more elegant in person. I really like the simple,clean lines of the shape, and surface has a smooth, clear, satiny finish. It has more capacity than I expected. The packaging was excellent for shipping. All the corners were well-protected, which also helped in moving it inside to its location upstairs.
    I considered buying a cedar chest from a large on-line furniture company, but none were this nice and they weren't made in the USA. Even better this company showcases the talented craftsmanship available in the great state of Pennsylvania! Now I'm hoping it will get to work protecting my wool blankets and sweaters from those terrible moths!

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   7 years 10 months ago

    Awesome *****Received chest this morning. Absolutely awesome, perfect in every detail, from craftsmanship to finish, quality unsurpassed. It doesn't get any better than this. I am so pleased with my purchase, it's difficult to find the words to describe how very much I appreciate all the work that went into this treasure. I ordered on Jan. 11, 2011 and received today, January 21st. Very well packaged, shipper great also. Hope to order another in the near future. Thanks Josh from the bottom of my heart for such a beautiful treasure. Barbara Newman

  • For Product: Savannah, Tiger Maple Top (Two-Tone Finish)   7 years 11 months ago

    Thank you, Joshua, for my lovely tiger maple Deep Storage Chest. It is beyond my expectations! The craftsmanship and finishing are superb! Michael's Stain highlights the figured wood and the dovetailing detail.

    My chest was completed on schedule and was carefully packed to prevent damage during shipping.

    You have a truly satisfied customer in me!

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   7 years 12 months ago

    The chest is even more beautiful than I'd hoped. Truly heirloom quality. My daughter received it as a hope chest for her 18th birthday. This will be something she will treasure for many years to come. Thank you very much!

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   8 years 5 days ago

    I ordered two weeks ago and it came yesterday.What a beautifull chest my wife
    loves the chest and it made a perfect christmas gift. Thank you for shipping
    before christmas it made my wife very happy!Thank you Joshua!!!

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Oak)   8 years 1 week ago

    We are very impressed with the quality of this chest. It arrived in excellent condition and is as wonderful as we had hoped.

  • For Product: Savannah (Quarter Sawn White Oak)   8 years 3 weeks ago

    This blanket chest is extremely well crafted. The quarter-sawn white oak displays a wonderful pattern of rays, the finish/lacquer is georgeous, the hinges support the lid effortlessly, and finally the dovetail meticulous. Shipping was fast and the chest was very well packed.

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   8 years 1 month ago

    The chest just arrived on Friday and it is absolutely beautiful! Makes me wish all of my furniture was made like this. The quality is superb and even better than I expected. Arrived in mint condition and was very well packed. I purchased mine without any cedar lining and they were more than happy to accomodate my request. Very good customer service and prompt with all of their order updates, shipping information and communication. THANK YOU!

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   8 years 2 months ago

    Perfect and as advertised ! We received our cedar chest just a couple weeks after it was ordered and it is gorgeous ! The cedar wood is beatiful and the smell of fresh cedar is wonderful. We are very happy with our purchase. Thanks Joshua !!

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Oak)   8 years 3 months ago

    Just what I wanted and ordered. Fits perfectly as a coffee table with storage.
    Sturdy enough for someone to sit on! The finish is lovely. The service was excellent- very glad I purchased this chest from Amish Hand Crafted!

  • For Product: Maple Plymouth Trunk   8 years 3 months ago

    Steamer trunk arived today in excellent condition. Appreciate the craftsmanship: both the quality of the woodworking and the quality of the espresso finish. Very well done.

    Steamer trunk now resides as a handsome piece of furniture set in the corner of the living room.

    W.

  • For Product: Large Basic Cedar Chest   8 years 4 months ago

    I just received my Large Basic Cedar Chest today and I LOVE IT!! It is absolutely beautiful! The craftsman ship is amazing! It is very sturdy and I look forward to enjoying this chest for many many years to come!!!!

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   8 years 4 months ago

    I have never seen a finer example of art in wood. Joshua has creeated a chest that will remain in my family for generations. The wood, finish, assembly, appearance and lining are all marked by the hand of a loving craftsman. To see the chest is to just gaze at its amazing beauty. Don't hesitate to purchase - it is a great value!!!!!!!!!!

  • For Product: Summerfield Jumbo Waterfall (Cedar)   8 years 4 months ago

    My experience with this company has been perfect in every way. The chest arrived in excellent shape and we are very happy with the quality.

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   8 years 4 months ago

    The chest is absolutely gorgeous! It is even better than I expected. The quality is clearly way above the norm. I ordered it with the dovetail joints and they look spectacular. I now may need to order another one....thank you so much!

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   8 years 5 months ago

    My chest arrived with a little delivery issue but was worth the wait. Was exactly what I wanted and is almost a perfect match to my bedroom furniture. The craftsmanship is fantastic. Would definitely recommend your product to others.
    Thank you!

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   8 years 5 months ago

    It is the most elegant piece of furniture I've ever purchased - flawless. The quality and workmanship, was beyond my expectation. I contacted the owner for help in selecting the stain, he was extremely helpful and the color is exactly what I wanted. Betsy Ross Cherry Deep Storage chest was done in harvest stain with shaker base. The dovetail joints really enhances the beauty of the chest. The chest was well packaged and arrived on time. Thank You!

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   8 years 5 months ago

    I ordered the medium basic cedar chest for my daughter's wedding shower and had "Rest some, laugh often, love much" engraved on the front. I also had a personalized plaque engraved for the lid. The chest arrived yesterday in perfect condition and it is gorgeous. My daughter (and my husband!) love it. The engraving on the front is a little hard to read on the striated cedar wood, but is deep and beautiful. Thank you for a wonderful gift for my daughter!

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   8 years 5 months ago

    I purchased the small cherry Shaker chest for my daughter-in-law. It is beautiful!! The quality and finish are everything I could want. And the customer service was also top notch. Joshua Stoltzfus graciously answered all my questions and even sent me finish samples at no charge to help me decide on the chest I wanted. I highly recommend his work.