Reviews and Comments

  • Home
  • Reviews and Comments
  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   3 years 8 months ago

    Thank you so much for this beautiful heirloom chest.  We wanted to put a new spin on the old-fashioned idea of a girl's hope chest -- placing in it items for college and beyond.  We searched a lot and finally decided to make an investment in a quality piece of craftsmanship.  

    This chest could even serve as a coffee table in a first home, with a piece of glass added to the top.

    We are more than pleased with what we received.  Thank you!!

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Cherry)   3 years 9 months ago
     

    I bought two of these chests for my grand daughters. Both were delivered as promised in perfect shape. Both girls are very happy with their chests. I had occasion to contact Josh by telephone. He was very responsive and very easy to deal with. It was a pleasure.

    George Weston

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   3 years 9 months ago

    Our Savannah Deep Storage chest (Cherry) with Salem finish is very well-crafted, fragrant, and the wood grain and the overall look, including the dovetail joints, are even more beautiful than pictured.  The high-quality hinges hold the lid open in any position.  For help in choosing the color, samples were sent to us on request; as a result we changed our color choice and are very happy with the result.  Josh was very helpful and kept us informed, and even during the busy Christmas season, the well-packaged chest arrived a few days earlier than promised. 

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Oak)   3 years 9 months ago

    We purchased the Harmony Medium Waterfall (Oak) Hope Chest for our daughter.   The chest arrived in perfect condition and we were extremely impressed on the craftsmanship and attention to detail of the chest.  Our daughter opened it up for Christmas and was very happy.  Thank you so much for this special gift that made Christmas 2015 a memorable one.   

  • For Product: Harmony Medium Waterfall (Oak)   3 years 9 months ago

    Exquisite detail. Better than we had anticipated. It is absolutely beautiful and adds SO much to our home. Thank you for your fine workmanship and detail. It is perfect. Thank you, thank you, thank you. :) :) :)

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   3 years 9 months ago

    I purchased two of these cedar chests for my daughters.  The workmanship is top notch.  The chests were packed very well.  From the date that I ordered till the day the chests arrived, the service by Josh went just as he said that it would.  The chests are beautiful and I hope my daughters enjoy them for many, many years.  Thank you.

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   3 years 9 months ago

    If you are looking for an heirloom quality piece of furniture this is it! beautiful quality, perfectly packed, no assembly required.  Arrived in 1 week, just in time for my daughter's 30th birthday!  I was very proud to give this to her.

    I had ordered a hope chest from another site, it was obviously made in china and I ended up using it as a storage box at my home.  Spend a bit more you will be very glad you did!

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   3 years 10 months ago

    Our Yorktown Reproduction Cedar Chest is even more beautiful than we had imagined it would be. The web site was easy to use and very descriptive which helped us narrow our search. After placing the order we had some second thoughts about the stain color. After calling to discuss our concerns, we received color samples in the mail which made the selection easy. When we received the chest, the color was perfect. We are so happy with the chest and look forward to many years of enjoying its beauty.

  • For Product: Savannah (Tiger Maple Stained Finish)   3 years 11 months ago

    The savannah tiger maple chest exceeds my expectations. The service from Amish Hand Crafted.com was exceptional. You do not get service like this anymore! Josh was great!

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   3 years 11 months ago

    I was worried when I first ordered this trunk because you never know what you're going to get when you order something online.  I found that I worried needlessly ... this trunk is beautiful.  I plan on handing it down to my daughter and then to my granddaughter.  Given how amazingly well built it is, I know it will last them a lifetime.  Thank you so much for the beautiful craftsmanship you put into it.  I will not hesitate to refer anyone to your website.

  • For Product: Mayflower Medium Cherry Chest   3 years 11 months ago

    My chest was delivered last week in excellent condition. I was anxious about shipping such a long distance from PA to Texas. This delivery was to be curbside, but a very nice gentlemen delivered right to our garage. I am so pleased with this chest, it is just what I have been shopping for. This chest is a gift for our Granddaughter's 18th birthday. I will put some heirlooms and a quilt that I just recently made for her in it. The chest is perfect in every way, size, finish (Nutmeg) and appearance. We will deliver to her during Thanksgiving Holiday and can't wait to see her reaction. I totally recommend this furniture manufacturer. This chest certainly receives a 5-star rating. Thank you, Jason.

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   3 years 11 months ago

    The Maple chest with Michael stain and Old World Distressing is beautiful.  It is a Christmas present for our daughter, but my wife had no idea what I had ordered (:)).  We quickly opened the shipping box (very well packed) and my wife was amazed with the beauty of the chest, and loved the inscription on the inside of the lid.  It has been placed back into the shipping box and hidden for a few weeks, but will soon be prominently displayed by our wonderful daughter.  Thanks for the fantastic workmanship, I know this will be a highlight of Christmas in our home.

  • For Product: Summerfield Jumbo Waterfall (Cedar)   3 years 11 months ago

    I just received my beautiful chest and absolutely love it!  It is just what I needed to store my handmade quilts and afghans. I have to admit I was hesitant to order from a company I hadn't heard of. However, I could not have received more courteous, prompt service,and the chest is beautiful and extremely well made. Even the delivery was prompt with a very courteous delivery man who was proud to deliver an undamaged product. I could not be more pleased with my beautiful chest and the experience as a whole!

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   4 years 1 week ago

    Ordered this chest for our daughters 18th birthday.  Although I didn't order it in time to arrive on her birthday it came weeks earlier than I expected.  Fed Ex didn't arrange for delivery they just left it on the front porch which didn't give us the chance to ensure that there was no damage. But the chest was well wrapped for shipping and it arrived without a mark. Our daughters stated this chest is very beautiful and the colors are perfect. I know she will cherish this cedar chest for many years to come. 

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 1 month ago

    My cedar chest arrived on time and in perfect condition due to masterful and thoughtful packaging. The Amish have outstanding craftsmanship. My cedar chest is an example of their skills, I love mine. Josh is wonderful to work with and was helpful in answering all of my questions and is a man of Integrity. I give his company a 5 stars plus rating, and  highly recommend his products and the service. 

  • For Product: Oak Steamer Trunk   4 years 2 months ago

    The trunk was purchased for our son's 40th birthday.  Mr. Stoltzfus was prompt and helpful to ensure the trunk was received by his birthday in August. When our son saw the trunk, he commented on its beauty and markmanship.  All of us were very pleased and highly recommend Mr. Stoltzfus and company. 

    Larry & Mary Ann in NC

  • For Product: Savannah (Quarter Sawn White Oak)   4 years 3 months ago

    Dealing with Josh was very pleasant and made the order effortless.  Subsequent communication was very much appreciated.  The chest is very well made with the dovetail seamless construction.  The color and wood grain picks up the light beautifully.  I'm starting to pick up what I want to be heirloom pieces for my children and could not have made a better choice.  

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (QuickShip)   4 years 3 months ago

    Oops, I forgot to do the star rating - of course, I will give 5 stars and above!  Thank you so much!

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (QuickShip)   4 years 3 months ago

    I love my new chest so much!  It was delivered promptly and arrived in excellent shape, even though the driver was afraid that it would be damaged because there was a big dent in one of the sides and corner of the box.  But it was so well packaged that the dent did not penetrate into the chest and there was not a scratch anywhere on the chest.  Thank you for taking such great care to package this jewel.  I opened it up to inspect it before I signed for the delivery, and the driver was so impressed, as I was, with the beauty and quality of this chest.  He wanted all the contact info of where I purchased it from and said he would tell his wife about it.  The cedar bottom is so aromatic and smells so good  when I open it and reminds of the cedar chest my mom had when I was a child.  The construction is the highest quality,  top notch, very well made.  Thank you so, so much for all that you do in making these beautiful chests!  I will be purchasing more for sure.  Blessings to you all!

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar (QuickShip)   4 years 4 months ago

    The beautiful cedar chest arrived at our granddaughter's doorstep this morning in perfect condition and she loves it! Sent pictures of it and was so excited to have our traditional graduation gift. Thank you, Josh, for the effort you and your crew expended in getting it here the day before she graduates. I didn't give you much time but you all came through!
    The Amish reputation allowed me to order confidently with just a phone call and I can't thank you enough. 5 stars! 

  • For Product: Franklin Small (Cedar)   4 years 4 months ago

    We ordered this chest for our daughter for her college graduation. Beyond pleased with the chest itself, the size is bigger than I thought it would be, absolutely beautiful craftsmanship and the service/communication with Josh was excellent!  I would definitely order from them again !!  The quality is what they said it would be and the service is what they said it would be!!  Thank you Josh! 

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar (QuickShip)   4 years 5 months ago

    We received the chest today and all I can say is WOW! It is absolutely beautiful! The workmanship and finish is top notch and it only took 3 days to ship from PA to SD. We ordered it for our daughter's high school graduation and I have no doubts she is going to absolutely LOVE it! Great job and thanks for making an heirloom she will cherish forever! Oh, and the way it was protected on all corners, top, and bottom with foam kept it in pristine condition through the shipping process!

  • For Product: Summerfield Small Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 5 months ago

    Josh Stoltzfus & Team--born to bless.  Just received the cedar chest.  Thank you.  Quality as expected, (why I chose your company) arrived in perfect condition.  As an artisan myself, when I pick up a pencil, pen, or paint brush, so you do it with wood.  I recognize and honor exellence in craftsmanship. 

    Dad passed away last year and the two of us being of same build, I received his collection of wool sweaters.  Now the sweaters have the appropriate storage to keep them safe and also reflect the witness of our love for one another.

  • For Product: Summerfield Petite Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 5 months ago

    We received our chest well before the expected date, well protected in its shipping box. The trunk is beautiful and smooth, with great cedar fragrance. Can't wait to store linens inside it!

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk (QuickShip)   4 years 5 months ago

    We have jsut received our trunk today.  I wasn't expecting it to arrive so soon.  It took 5 days from the day I ordered it to the day it arrived.  The interenet photos are of very good quality and look very nice, but nothing compared to the actual item.  It is truly an awesome piece of workmanship.  My husband had some misgivings about ordering on the internet, but I had done alot of research and read every comment posted for this site.  We are both very happy and a little sad, since this is a gift to my inlaws and not for us!!!!  My hopes are that we'll be able to purchase our own in the near future. 

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Cherry)   4 years 6 months ago

    Dear Mr. Stoltzfus, 

    We just received our beautiful chest. It was delivered in a timely manner and very well packaged. The workmanship is excellent (inside and out)! The color matches our other furniture perfectly. We are looking forward to using this beatiful piece for years to come. 

    Thank you!

  • For Product: Savannah, Tiger Maple Top (Two-Tone Finish)   4 years 6 months ago

    I just received the Savannah Maple chest today and it's gorgeous.    My husband was skeptical of ordering a chest online so he went through it with a fine tooth comb and said the workmansihip is amazing.   He's already gone through the catalog to circle additional chests to order for different rooms in the house.  I will most definitely be a repeat customer.   Thank you Josh

  • For Product: Cambridge Large Seat Rail (Cherry)   4 years 6 months ago

    We just received our Cambridge Large Seat Rail Chest in Bing Cherry. It looks even better than it did online. The coloring matches other furniture as if they were all made at the same time. Thank you so much. I look forward to using it.

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   4 years 6 months ago

    I ordered this Maple Steamer trunk for my husband as a gift....it is so gorgeous. The craftmanship that you have Josh is incredible. Thank you for making it for us. We love it.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 7 months ago

    Absolutely love my chest. I have always wanted one and this company made a dream come true. I liked how they would email you every step of the process. Didn't have to worry about it being damaged during shipping it was well protected. I would recommend this company to anyone who wanted a beautiful cedar chest that could be passed down through generations.

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   4 years 7 months ago

    The Savannah Deep Storage chest arrived yesterday in perfect condition. It is exactly as I expected it to be and I am delighted with everything about it: finish, color, detailing.  You may add me to your [no doubt] long list of satisfied customers. Ordering a product online without ever having seen it can be a nerve racking experience. But the detailed information on your website and phone conversations with you gave me complete confidence, and I was not disappointed. ~ Margaret

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   4 years 7 months ago

    This was purchased to become an heirloom as it is for storage of family items related to my late wife. Josh customized the hardware for me mixing bright brass and nickel - something my wife loved to do with jewelry and furnishings. I looked at alternative pieces but the quality promised, and delivered, with this purchase was a far greater and lasting value. Arrived packaged to prevent damage and did so. 

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   4 years 8 months ago

    Just received this beautiful steamer trunk. Josh you did a fantastic job. I absolutely love it. I can't wait to give it to my husband on his birthday.

  • For Product: Mayflower Medium Cherry Chest   4 years 8 months ago

    My husband and I ordered the Mayflower Medium Cherry Chest as a gift for our Granddaughter's 21st Birthday.  It arrived a few days ago, delivered directly to her home.  We had the opportunity to see it for ourselves yesterday.  The workmanship in this chest is superb and we couldn't be happier with our choice.  We have four other granddaughters who are now waiting for theirs when they turn 21.  Hats off to Josh Stoltzfus for making this beautiful piece of furniture.  We will be ordering another next year and subsequent years thereafter.  Thank you for the pride you take in your craft.  It shows!  

  • For Product: Maple Plymouth Trunk (Legacy Black)   4 years 8 months ago

    My daughter has been wanting a steamer trunk for some time.  We were all set to get one at PB and there were none in stock.  After a less than pleasurable experience at PB I decided to look on line and found these beautiful trunks.  The trunk arrived sooner that expected and it is absolutely beautiful.  The workmanship is outstanding, far better than I could find in any local store.  

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Cherry)   4 years 9 months ago

    The Charleston Large Cherry chest arrived Friday in great condition. It certainly did not disappoint! The craftsmanship and quailty was evident in every feature of the chest. We thank you and your staff for efficient and professional service throughout the process and expect to enjoy the chest for years to come.

  • For Product: Yorktown Med. Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   4 years 9 months ago

    We ordered this hope chest for my mom.  The craftmanship and artistry of this piece is amazing.  We all are very pleased with it.  The cherry wood and stain is flawless.  The joints fit together perfectly.  It is getting harder and harder to find solid wood furniture that is made with such care and attention to detail.  Thank you so much for your work on this and your evident pride in delivering a top-notch product.

  • For Product: Springfield Large Seat Rail (Cedar)   4 years 9 months ago

    ~~I ordered my Cedar Chest on December 12, 2014.  I received it in Vermont a day after the finish date, which was December 30, 2014.  It was very well packaged.  The chest is absolutely beautiful! The wood is very smooth and the color in the grains of the wood is breathtaking.  Everything, including the hinges is built to perfection.  Likewise, the seat fits the top perfectly.  I will definitely order from here again, and recommend it to others. 

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Oak)   4 years 9 months ago

    I ordered this chest and one of the deep storage chests for each of my daughters.  These were bought with an inheritance from my Mother who passed away in October.  She grew up Mennonite and cedar and hope chests are very common.  When they arrived, they were extremely well packed.  They were beautiful with dove tail corners, cedar bottoms, and locks.  My daughters were very happy with them and plan to pass them down as herilooms.  I will surely pass along to others about how such good quality these are.  Thank you!

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 10 months ago

    Our chest arrived a few days ago in perfect condition.  The chest is more beautiful then we imaged.  The chest will hold the life memories of our oldest son who is no longer with us.  We could not be more pleased with the impeccable craftsmanship.  Thank you Josh

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 10 months ago

    The Summerfall Medium Chest is exquisite. I expected a beautiful, well-made piece, and that is exactly what I got!! It was minutely inspected and found to be without flaw; the perfect heirloom piece. Perfect. The sliding drawer is smoothly operated, and just the right size; the casters roll very easily and are virtually invisible!! I recommend adding those to any piece, hands down.
    The SERVICE offered by Josh is beyond the pale. I just don't have the words to express the level of satisfaction in this entire transaction!!
    I hope to order more pieces in the future!
    Thank you, for everything! And "Health To Your Hands"!!

  • For Product: Harmony Jumbo Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 10 months ago

    My husband and I are very impressed with the chest we purchased from you.  The craftsmanship is top quality and we couldn't be happier.  It arrived in perfect condition.  The price was good too.  We give you 5 stars!!!

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   4 years 11 months ago

    I am extremely pleased with my beautiful Amish chest. Its simplicity is it's beauty as the grain and color of the wood stand out. It's perfect for storing my yarn and afghans-in-progress along with a tray which is perfect for storing crochet hooks and books I have purchased over time, including my own designs that are very popular.

    Thank you, Josh, for being so attentive to my order. It arrived in perfect condition and is already almost full of my creative treasures which I delight in giving away and people delight in receiving them. It's a wonderful connection to my grandchildren. As one of them phrased it, "I don't see how you turn that string into a beautiful blanket." I'm making memories for my family and my beautiful chest is holding those memories until I give them away. 

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 11 months ago

    My chest arrived today. WOW, what a beauty and the aroma from the red cedar really adds so much to my bedroom! It is more gorgeous than the catalog photo and it is the perfect size for my needs. I can't thank Josh and his team enough for the work they do and the products they make. Beautiful workmanship and such an affordable price. Thank you!! 

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   4 years 11 months ago

    My Yorktown Reproduction Chest arrived and I am so happy with it. The chest is beautiful Cherry wood with Acres stain and even more beautiful then I had imagined it would be. The inside is fully cedar lined and I was so pleased with the scent. I was worried that it may be to strong, but it is just perfect. I chose the dovetail joints and the workmanship is exquisite. I wanted the chest to be larger then the standard large chest and Josh was so helpful with creating the size to fit the design. All my questions and concerns were immediately answered by Josh and I felt very secure with my order. I would not hesitate to shop with this company in the future. ~ Kathleen, CT

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 11 months ago

    You get what you pay for and what we received was pure perfection. The quality and craftsmanship are at a level seldom seen these days. The chest simply exceeds all expectations, and we would recommend Amish Hand Crafted to anyone looking for the finest quality available.

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   5 years 2 days ago

    The trunk is beautiful.  It was shipped on the date I was given when I place my order and arrived the following day.  It looks great in my home and is just want I was looking for to keep family mementos.  I am very please with my purchase. 

  • For Product: Charleston Medium (Cherry)   5 years 2 days ago

    We're so pleased with our Charleston chest in cherry wood.  The Boston stain is lovely, the workmanship excellent.  It was a pleasure dealing with Amish Handcrafted.  Josh was very prompt in answering my questions and our order was shipped on the exact date promised.  

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   5 years 1 month ago

    We have just received the beautiful cedar chest you made for our first grandaughter's first birthday!!! Thank you so much as it is absolutely beautiful!! My husband and I both thank you for such a lovely cedar chest. Oh, the sweet gifts this chest will hold over the years!! Greatful for such a treasured gift for our little angel!
    Best regards, John & Kathy

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   5 years 1 month ago

    My chest arrived well packed and is absolutely as beautiful as I had anticipated it would be. Josh was very helpful during the entire process even sending me samples of the different colored finishes available. I am so happy! This will be a lovely family heirloom to pass down through the generations. Many thanks again.