Reviews and Comments

  • Home
  • Reviews and Comments
  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Legacy Black)   3 years 2 months ago

    Ordered this chest for our daughters 18th birthday.  Although I didn't order it in time to arrive on her birthday it came weeks earlier than I expected.  Fed Ex didn't arrange for delivery they just left it on the front porch which didn't give us the chance to ensure that there was no damage. But the chest was well wrapped for shipping and it arrived without a mark. Our daughters stated this chest is very beautiful and the colors are perfect. I know she will cherish this cedar chest for many years to come. 

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   3 years 3 months ago

    My cedar chest arrived on time and in perfect condition due to masterful and thoughtful packaging. The Amish have outstanding craftsmanship. My cedar chest is an example of their skills, I love mine. Josh is wonderful to work with and was helpful in answering all of my questions and is a man of Integrity. I give his company a 5 stars plus rating, and  highly recommend his products and the service. 

  • For Product: Oak Steamer Trunk   3 years 4 months ago

    The trunk was purchased for our son's 40th birthday.  Mr. Stoltzfus was prompt and helpful to ensure the trunk was received by his birthday in August. When our son saw the trunk, he commented on its beauty and markmanship.  All of us were very pleased and highly recommend Mr. Stoltzfus and company. 

    Larry & Mary Ann in NC

  • For Product: Savannah (Quarter Sawn White Oak)   3 years 5 months ago

    Dealing with Josh was very pleasant and made the order effortless.  Subsequent communication was very much appreciated.  The chest is very well made with the dovetail seamless construction.  The color and wood grain picks up the light beautifully.  I'm starting to pick up what I want to be heirloom pieces for my children and could not have made a better choice.  

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (QuickShip)   3 years 5 months ago

    Oops, I forgot to do the star rating - of course, I will give 5 stars and above!  Thank you so much!

  • For Product: Three Panel Shaker (QuickShip)   3 years 5 months ago

    I love my new chest so much!  It was delivered promptly and arrived in excellent shape, even though the driver was afraid that it would be damaged because there was a big dent in one of the sides and corner of the box.  But it was so well packaged that the dent did not penetrate into the chest and there was not a scratch anywhere on the chest.  Thank you for taking such great care to package this jewel.  I opened it up to inspect it before I signed for the delivery, and the driver was so impressed, as I was, with the beauty and quality of this chest.  He wanted all the contact info of where I purchased it from and said he would tell his wife about it.  The cedar bottom is so aromatic and smells so good  when I open it and reminds of the cedar chest my mom had when I was a child.  The construction is the highest quality,  top notch, very well made.  Thank you so, so much for all that you do in making these beautiful chests!  I will be purchasing more for sure.  Blessings to you all!

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar (QuickShip)   3 years 6 months ago

    The beautiful cedar chest arrived at our granddaughter's doorstep this morning in perfect condition and she loves it! Sent pictures of it and was so excited to have our traditional graduation gift. Thank you, Josh, for the effort you and your crew expended in getting it here the day before she graduates. I didn't give you much time but you all came through!
    The Amish reputation allowed me to order confidently with just a phone call and I can't thank you enough. 5 stars! 

  • For Product: Franklin Small (Cedar)   3 years 6 months ago

    We ordered this chest for our daughter for her college graduation. Beyond pleased with the chest itself, the size is bigger than I thought it would be, absolutely beautiful craftsmanship and the service/communication with Josh was excellent!  I would definitely order from them again !!  The quality is what they said it would be and the service is what they said it would be!!  Thank you Josh! 

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar (QuickShip)   3 years 7 months ago

    We received the chest today and all I can say is WOW! It is absolutely beautiful! The workmanship and finish is top notch and it only took 3 days to ship from PA to SD. We ordered it for our daughter's high school graduation and I have no doubts she is going to absolutely LOVE it! Great job and thanks for making an heirloom she will cherish forever! Oh, and the way it was protected on all corners, top, and bottom with foam kept it in pristine condition through the shipping process!

  • For Product: Summerfield Small Waterfall (Cedar)   3 years 7 months ago

    Josh Stoltzfus & Team--born to bless.  Just received the cedar chest.  Thank you.  Quality as expected, (why I chose your company) arrived in perfect condition.  As an artisan myself, when I pick up a pencil, pen, or paint brush, so you do it with wood.  I recognize and honor exellence in craftsmanship. 

    Dad passed away last year and the two of us being of same build, I received his collection of wool sweaters.  Now the sweaters have the appropriate storage to keep them safe and also reflect the witness of our love for one another.

  • For Product: Summerfield Petite Waterfall (Cedar)   3 years 7 months ago

    We received our chest well before the expected date, well protected in its shipping box. The trunk is beautiful and smooth, with great cedar fragrance. Can't wait to store linens inside it!

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk (QuickShip)   3 years 7 months ago

    We have jsut received our trunk today.  I wasn't expecting it to arrive so soon.  It took 5 days from the day I ordered it to the day it arrived.  The interenet photos are of very good quality and look very nice, but nothing compared to the actual item.  It is truly an awesome piece of workmanship.  My husband had some misgivings about ordering on the internet, but I had done alot of research and read every comment posted for this site.  We are both very happy and a little sad, since this is a gift to my inlaws and not for us!!!!  My hopes are that we'll be able to purchase our own in the near future. 

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Cherry)   3 years 7 months ago

    Dear Mr. Stoltzfus, 

    We just received our beautiful chest. It was delivered in a timely manner and very well packaged. The workmanship is excellent (inside and out)! The color matches our other furniture perfectly. We are looking forward to using this beatiful piece for years to come. 

    Thank you!

  • For Product: Savannah, Tiger Maple Top (Two-Tone Finish)   3 years 7 months ago

    I just received the Savannah Maple chest today and it's gorgeous.    My husband was skeptical of ordering a chest online so he went through it with a fine tooth comb and said the workmansihip is amazing.   He's already gone through the catalog to circle additional chests to order for different rooms in the house.  I will most definitely be a repeat customer.   Thank you Josh

  • For Product: Cambridge Large Seat Rail (Cherry)   3 years 8 months ago

    We just received our Cambridge Large Seat Rail Chest in Bing Cherry. It looks even better than it did online. The coloring matches other furniture as if they were all made at the same time. Thank you so much. I look forward to using it.

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   3 years 8 months ago

    I ordered this Maple Steamer trunk for my husband as a gift....it is so gorgeous. The craftmanship that you have Josh is incredible. Thank you for making it for us. We love it.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   3 years 8 months ago

    Absolutely love my chest. I have always wanted one and this company made a dream come true. I liked how they would email you every step of the process. Didn't have to worry about it being damaged during shipping it was well protected. I would recommend this company to anyone who wanted a beautiful cedar chest that could be passed down through generations.

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   3 years 9 months ago

    The Savannah Deep Storage chest arrived yesterday in perfect condition. It is exactly as I expected it to be and I am delighted with everything about it: finish, color, detailing.  You may add me to your [no doubt] long list of satisfied customers. Ordering a product online without ever having seen it can be a nerve racking experience. But the detailed information on your website and phone conversations with you gave me complete confidence, and I was not disappointed. ~ Margaret

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   3 years 9 months ago

    This was purchased to become an heirloom as it is for storage of family items related to my late wife. Josh customized the hardware for me mixing bright brass and nickel - something my wife loved to do with jewelry and furnishings. I looked at alternative pieces but the quality promised, and delivered, with this purchase was a far greater and lasting value. Arrived packaged to prevent damage and did so. 

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   3 years 9 months ago

    Just received this beautiful steamer trunk. Josh you did a fantastic job. I absolutely love it. I can't wait to give it to my husband on his birthday.

  • For Product: Mayflower Medium Cherry Chest   3 years 10 months ago

    My husband and I ordered the Mayflower Medium Cherry Chest as a gift for our Granddaughter's 21st Birthday.  It arrived a few days ago, delivered directly to her home.  We had the opportunity to see it for ourselves yesterday.  The workmanship in this chest is superb and we couldn't be happier with our choice.  We have four other granddaughters who are now waiting for theirs when they turn 21.  Hats off to Josh Stoltzfus for making this beautiful piece of furniture.  We will be ordering another next year and subsequent years thereafter.  Thank you for the pride you take in your craft.  It shows!  

  • For Product: Maple Plymouth Trunk (Legacy Black)   3 years 10 months ago

    My daughter has been wanting a steamer trunk for some time.  We were all set to get one at PB and there were none in stock.  After a less than pleasurable experience at PB I decided to look on line and found these beautiful trunks.  The trunk arrived sooner that expected and it is absolutely beautiful.  The workmanship is outstanding, far better than I could find in any local store.  

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Cherry)   3 years 11 months ago

    The Charleston Large Cherry chest arrived Friday in great condition. It certainly did not disappoint! The craftsmanship and quailty was evident in every feature of the chest. We thank you and your staff for efficient and professional service throughout the process and expect to enjoy the chest for years to come.

  • For Product: Yorktown Med. Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   3 years 11 months ago

    We ordered this hope chest for my mom.  The craftmanship and artistry of this piece is amazing.  We all are very pleased with it.  The cherry wood and stain is flawless.  The joints fit together perfectly.  It is getting harder and harder to find solid wood furniture that is made with such care and attention to detail.  Thank you so much for your work on this and your evident pride in delivering a top-notch product.

  • For Product: Springfield Large Seat Rail (Cedar)   3 years 11 months ago

    ~~I ordered my Cedar Chest on December 12, 2014.  I received it in Vermont a day after the finish date, which was December 30, 2014.  It was very well packaged.  The chest is absolutely beautiful! The wood is very smooth and the color in the grains of the wood is breathtaking.  Everything, including the hinges is built to perfection.  Likewise, the seat fits the top perfectly.  I will definitely order from here again, and recommend it to others. 

  • For Product: Charleston Large (Oak)   3 years 11 months ago

    I ordered this chest and one of the deep storage chests for each of my daughters.  These were bought with an inheritance from my Mother who passed away in October.  She grew up Mennonite and cedar and hope chests are very common.  When they arrived, they were extremely well packed.  They were beautiful with dove tail corners, cedar bottoms, and locks.  My daughters were very happy with them and plan to pass them down as herilooms.  I will surely pass along to others about how such good quality these are.  Thank you!

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   3 years 11 months ago

    Our chest arrived a few days ago in perfect condition.  The chest is more beautiful then we imaged.  The chest will hold the life memories of our oldest son who is no longer with us.  We could not be more pleased with the impeccable craftsmanship.  Thank you Josh

  • For Product: Summerfield Med. Waterfall (Cedar)   3 years 12 months ago

    The Summerfall Medium Chest is exquisite. I expected a beautiful, well-made piece, and that is exactly what I got!! It was minutely inspected and found to be without flaw; the perfect heirloom piece. Perfect. The sliding drawer is smoothly operated, and just the right size; the casters roll very easily and are virtually invisible!! I recommend adding those to any piece, hands down.
    The SERVICE offered by Josh is beyond the pale. I just don't have the words to express the level of satisfaction in this entire transaction!!
    I hope to order more pieces in the future!
    Thank you, for everything! And "Health To Your Hands"!!

  • For Product: Harmony Jumbo Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 4 days ago

    My husband and I are very impressed with the chest we purchased from you.  The craftsmanship is top quality and we couldn't be happier.  It arrived in perfect condition.  The price was good too.  We give you 5 stars!!!

  • For Product: Savannah Deep Storage (Cherry)   4 years 4 weeks ago

    I am extremely pleased with my beautiful Amish chest. Its simplicity is it's beauty as the grain and color of the wood stand out. It's perfect for storing my yarn and afghans-in-progress along with a tray which is perfect for storing crochet hooks and books I have purchased over time, including my own designs that are very popular.

    Thank you, Josh, for being so attentive to my order. It arrived in perfect condition and is already almost full of my creative treasures which I delight in giving away and people delight in receiving them. It's a wonderful connection to my grandchildren. As one of them phrased it, "I don't see how you turn that string into a beautiful blanket." I'm making memories for my family and my beautiful chest is holding those memories until I give them away. 

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 1 month ago

    My chest arrived today. WOW, what a beauty and the aroma from the red cedar really adds so much to my bedroom! It is more gorgeous than the catalog photo and it is the perfect size for my needs. I can't thank Josh and his team enough for the work they do and the products they make. Beautiful workmanship and such an affordable price. Thank you!! 

  • For Product: Yorktown Large Reproduction Hope Chest (Cherry)   4 years 1 month ago

    My Yorktown Reproduction Chest arrived and I am so happy with it. The chest is beautiful Cherry wood with Acres stain and even more beautiful then I had imagined it would be. The inside is fully cedar lined and I was so pleased with the scent. I was worried that it may be to strong, but it is just perfect. I chose the dovetail joints and the workmanship is exquisite. I wanted the chest to be larger then the standard large chest and Josh was so helpful with creating the size to fit the design. All my questions and concerns were immediately answered by Josh and I felt very secure with my order. I would not hesitate to shop with this company in the future. ~ Kathleen, CT

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 1 month ago

    You get what you pay for and what we received was pure perfection. The quality and craftsmanship are at a level seldom seen these days. The chest simply exceeds all expectations, and we would recommend Amish Hand Crafted to anyone looking for the finest quality available.

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   4 years 1 month ago

    The trunk is beautiful.  It was shipped on the date I was given when I place my order and arrived the following day.  It looks great in my home and is just want I was looking for to keep family mementos.  I am very please with my purchase. 

  • For Product: Charleston Medium (Cherry)   4 years 1 month ago

    We're so pleased with our Charleston chest in cherry wood.  The Boston stain is lovely, the workmanship excellent.  It was a pleasure dealing with Amish Handcrafted.  Josh was very prompt in answering my questions and our order was shipped on the exact date promised.  

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 3 months ago

    We have just received the beautiful cedar chest you made for our first grandaughter's first birthday!!! Thank you so much as it is absolutely beautiful!! My husband and I both thank you for such a lovely cedar chest. Oh, the sweet gifts this chest will hold over the years!! Greatful for such a treasured gift for our little angel!
    Best regards, John & Kathy

  • For Product: Harmony Large Waterfall (Cherry)   4 years 3 months ago

    My chest arrived well packed and is absolutely as beautiful as I had anticipated it would be. Josh was very helpful during the entire process even sending me samples of the different colored finishes available. I am so happy! This will be a lovely family heirloom to pass down through the generations. Many thanks again.

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 3 months ago

    The cedar chest arrived on Wed.(8-20-14) in perfect condition and in time for our daughter's birthday! The grain in the cedar chest is beautiful and construction of the chest reflects craftsmanship. A piece that will be cherished forever. Thank you for your attention to detail and your prompt courteous response to questions. Sincerely, Carol

  • For Product: Franklin Large (Cedar)   4 years 3 months ago

    My cedar chest arrived today in perfect condition, and exactly as ordered. It is incredibly gorgeous, and a fabulous size for storing my hand knits and other treasures. We will definitely be ordering from you again. Thanks so, so much!

  • For Product: Summerfield Large Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 3 months ago

    My Summerfield Large Waterfall Cedar Chest arrived this morning.  It's a beautiful piece of furniture.  Very well made.  I couldn't be more pleased with it.  I'm a knitter and have already filled the chest with some of my beautiful yarns.  Looking forward to many years of use.

    Wonderful customer service and very fast delivery.  I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a high quality heirloom.

  • For Product: Large Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 4 months ago

    My Husband and I received both the Jumbo Waterfall Full Cedar Chest and the Large Basic Cedar Chest, delivered by Josh Stoltzfus on Friday, August 1st. What a pleasure to meet him. The Craftsmanship on both of the Cedar Chests is absolutely Top Shelf Quality! We highly recommend anyone looking to purchase an Amish made Full Cedar Chest to order from this Merchant, Amish Hand Crafted.com. You will be very pleased with the Quality and Aroma from the Cedar Wood . Thanks Again for the Service and Quality of Your Products. GOD BLESS YOU ALL

  • For Product: Summerfield Jumbo Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 4 months ago

    The Jumbo Waterfall Cedar Chest is absolutely perfect for storing and keeping all of our extra spreads and comforters for our Kingsize bed. The Large Basic Cedar Chest is again, the best size for keeping my cashmere sweaters in. I am very pleased and satisfied with the Quality and Craftsmanship of these Amish Made Cedar Chests. Keep Up the Good Work! Thanks Again Josh for the Service! - Very Satisfied Customers! - Melanie & Rick Cypher

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Oak)   4 years 4 months ago

    I am more than pleased with the workmanship on this chest.  I was expecting a quality product from the reviews I saw on the website, but the craftsmanship far exceeded my expectations!  The chest is not only beautiful, but extremely functional as well.  I am using it as a coffee table, and it is doubling as storage.  This lovely chest is an heirloom piece of furniture.  I believe it will last for generations to come!

  • For Product: Summerfield Jumbo Waterfall (Cedar)   4 years 4 months ago

    The chest is beautifully made and exactly what I was hoping for. I am completely satisfied and happy. Highly recommend the workmanship. 

  • For Product: Maple Steamer Trunk   4 years 4 months ago

    Hi Josh,  I love the distressed maple steamer trunk. It looks like the picture, only nicer. It came earlier than expected and was very well packaged.  The "Michael" stain with the antique brass hardware was just the look I was going for.  Thanks for the great customer service, too.  It was a pleasure doing business with your company, received a beautiful, heirloom pierce of furniture, and it was hand crafted right here in the U.S.A.   I love it so much, I may have to order another one for the next child getting married.  Thanks again!  Theresa Mc

  • For Product: Small Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 5 months ago

    From coast to coast in four days! Arrived in perfect condition and it is exactly what we wanted as a gift for our first newborn grandchild. The chest is well made and enhances any room. I will be ordering a larger one for us. Great product and great service.

  • For Product: Tall Plymouth Trunk (Maple)   4 years 5 months ago

    It was better. I was so excited to see the box on my porch and the words American made. Then I opened it and what can I say?  The artistry involved in the construction. It was perfect. Trust me I've been looking for sometime. Originally I thought I would be going with something from pottery barn and almost did but decided to keep looking. I'm so glad I did.  Not only is the quality of my chest superb but it cost less than the one from PB and once again I can't stress the importance of the words American made.  Lastly I would add Josh put any of my concerns to rest. Highly recommend any of their products

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar Chest   4 years 6 months ago

    Excellent customer service and outstanding workmanship! I bought this chest for my granddaughter's high school graduation. It is beautiful!  My granddaughter loves it! Pictures don't do it justice, you must see it to appreciate the beauty. 

  • For Product: Medium Basic Cedar (QuickShip)   4 years 6 months ago

    We ordered this for our graduating Granddaughter. Since she didn't want someting ornate or too large this seemed to be the best for her. It arrived today . I might add this was fast shipping (We live in Texas). I unpacked it to check for damage. There was none (Very well packed). I was astounded at the quality, finish and the wood is simply beautiful. We will be placing another order soon as I made the mistake of letting my Wife look at some of the pictures. Well worth every dollar we spent. Thanks loads for the extra work we asked you to do. Gene & Brenda

  • For Product: Two Panel Shaker (Oak)   4 years 7 months ago

    I was delighted to get my Shaker chest. It arrived in perfect condition and I love the way the lid closes so tightly and the mild cedar aroma